Eight Things I`ve Learned in a Month Living in Romania

  1. Transylvania does not equal Romania

Everybody I`ve talked to said people here are more progressive and much more relaxed than those living in the South. Cashiers remind me of that every time I have to wait in line of one (me) for 4 minutes in order to pay.

  1. Romania does not equal street dogs and poverty

Even in the 21th century and even within Europe (especially Europe), there is a stereotype which portrays Romania as a smelly land with excessive amounts of dangerous Roma people gangs, street dogs and only gray buildings. The truth is buildings can also be brown or green.

  1. You will not spend a single Lei for data roaming

According to various internet sites and resident people (and now me), Romania is one of the best countries in the world considering internet speed and accessibility. You can connect to Wi-Fi everywhere; most of the bars don`t even have it password protected. Not that the internet is the most important asset in life, the thing is you would probably put at least 50 countries before Romania on that list, even North Korea.

  1. The girls are beautiful

My current relationship status prevents me from saying anything more. But oh my God they are.

  1. Cluj-Napoca is the place to go

Everybody will tell you to visit this rightful successor of the European Capital of Youth title. More than one fifth of its population consists of students and the nightlife is following the all-around atmosphere of the city perfectly. Let`s put it this way: I`ve read a couple of days ago on the (easy accessible) internet that London was selected as the world`s party capital and I felt offended by it.

  1. Get used to chicken and potatoes

Maybe it was only Predeal, beautiful ski resort in the mountains – like Switzerland but eight times cheaper, and maybe it is just a coincidence but I feel like chickens in Romania are experiencing genocide at the moment. The future does not seem bright for the nation of Potatoes as well.

  1. It is safe if you`re not an idiot

Two fishy occasions happened. One time a couple of guys came into our unlocked apartment and sprayed something (probably water) underneath the sink and requested a signature along with 120 lei (approximately 30 eur). Of course we did not pay; we were stupid enough to let strangers into the flat. Second time my friend and I missed the main street and ended up getting lost in a twilight zone (the real one, not the one with vampires, bad plot and poor acting) near the train station. After a guy who was walking a dog showed us to go to the left, which led to a dark alley, started to call out for his friends saying “Englezi! Sunt englezi!” we`ve decided it is probably best to follow the light on the right and we were right.

  1. The music is everything

And everywhere. I have travelled most of the Europe and never heard music on the (trolley) bus station. More than that, the city in which I live, you`ve guessed it – Cluj, is closely connected to jazz. Finding live qualitative music never seemed so easy.

Author: Jaša

Leave a comment